Contour Galore: My Product Pick For Contouring

304-3001489-BMSTICK_BRONZEGLOW_M

I have been researching into contouring products for a while and was unsure of what was best to buy. Many top YouTube beauty vloggers seemed to just use any product with a dark enough pigment, whether that be a matte eyeshadow or an eyebrow shaping palette. I tried this out on my cheeks using my Benefit Brow Zings powder and a fine make-up brush but the product was too dry to blend into the skin properly which left an obvious line across my face. I basically just looked like I had rubbed some soil into my face and was a bit dirty. Using it to contour my nose was slightly more successful but I still felt like there was a product out there that would be much more suitable for contouring. 

I’ve had my eye on coutour palattes by both Anastasia Beverly Hills and NARS for a while now (both around £30-£40) as they keep cropping up on make-up tutorials but the price has kept putting me off. I am fairly willing to spend my money on something a bit pricier if it’s worth the cost but due the size and design of these kits (very similar to Brow Zing but a mix of contour and highlighting powders), it seems like they wouldn’t contain much product. This is fine if I’m only using it on a small section of my face (like my eyebrows) but because I’d be contouring my entire face with it I felt like it would run out quickly. I was also worried that they looked quite powdery and due to my previous failure with using a powder formula I wanted something a bit more creamy that would be easily blended. In saying this, I have bookmarked these products on my computer and I am secretly itching to buy them.

The main reason why I didn’t choose to buy a contour kit is because I already frequently use two highlighting products that I am happy with (Benefit Sun Beam and my recent purchase Mary-Lou Manizer by theBalm). I felt like adding a third highly recommended highlighting product to the mix would just be ridiculous; they would all be fighting for my love like a hoard of attractive men that I’m unable to pick between and I just can’t deal with the stress of that. I will always want you contour kit, but for now, you cannot be mine. 

I’ll get on with my actual recommendations now because it’s about bloody time to be honest…. (Just a quick story for you first): Last weekend I stayed at a friend’s in London and whilst we were getting ready to go shopping she swiped this chocolate toned stick across her cheeks, blended it in a bit and suddenly had these amazing cheek bones. This NARS Matte Multiple (£30) has a creamy consistency and comes in a range of bronze tones or pinky blushes which can be used as a face contour, on your lids as an eyeshadow, or even on your lips. I have read a lot of reviews though explaining how the product can be very drying on the lips so I’d be inclined to use it only as a blush or a contour (depending on which shade you choose). 

So, I had my product. Just a quick stalk online to see some product reviews and brand alternatives…. Welcome Laura Mercier Bonne Mine Stick Face Colour (£26). Both products have extremely similar packaging (a fairly thick tube-like stick that you can twist the base of to access more product; similar to an oversized lipstick) and also have a similar consistency. The product reviews that I could find online were very positive but unsurprisingly limited as they both only came out in 2014 (although the regular NARS Multi was released a few years ago).

The thing that made my mind up in the end on which product to choose was a YouTube video by Dusti Kae called Fall Makeup Tutorial. Although this professional make-up artist is fairly new to the vlogging world and currently has relatively low view counts on her videos you can tell that she has a lot of experience in the industry and really knows what she is talking about. I have made a lot of my recent product purchases through her recommendations and the Laura Mercier Bonne Mine Stick in Bronze Glow is one of them. I’d really encourage you to check out the video yourself as there are loads of other great products that she uses but the Bronze Glow Stick just looked so amazing when applied and the way that she raved about it made it literally impossible not to buy. 

So. There you go. After all that, it’s Laura Mercier Bronze Glow!

Leave a Reply

